The fortress of Chaumont-sur-Loire was built around the year 1000 to keep watch over the border between the counties of Blois and Anjou.
In 1465, Louis XI had the château burned and razed to the ground, but it was rebuilt just a few years later.
It was owned by the Amboise family for a good 500 years, and it was Charles II d’Amboise who turned it into an ornamental château in the Renaissance style, with sculpted decoration becoming the major feature of its outer façades.
Catherine de Medici acquired the Domaine in 1550 but did not make any significant changes to the château, which she gave to Diane de Poitiers in 1560. The King's former favourite had work implemented which gave it its current appearance, with, in particular, the completion of the parapet walkways of the tower-flanked entrance and the Saint-Nicolas tower.
In 1750, Jacques-Donatien Le Ray ordered the destruction of the north wing, so opening up an unparalleled view of the Loire. He played host to the Italian sculptor Jean-Baptiste Nini, and the château now boasts France's finest collection of the famous sculptor's "one-off" medallions.
In 1875, Marie-Charlotte-Constance Say purchased the château and married Prince Henri-Amédée de Broglie. She decorated its rooms with Renaissance furniture, and herself oversaw all the work required to make the residence worthy of the great receptions she was to host there. The architect Paul-Ernest Sanson was put in charge of the project, also designing the luxurious stables, while the architect Marcel Boille was responsible for building the estate's model farm.
Ceded to the State by Princess of Orleans and Bourbon in 1938, Domaine de Chaumont-sur-Loire has been the property of the Centre Region since 2007 and a Public Establishment of Cultural Cooperation (EPCC) since January 2008.